REBUILDING THE CABIN FLOOR – PART 3

During 2016 I didn’t achieve nearly as much on the boat as I originally envisioned. Nevertheless, I did finish the new beams for the cabin floor.   I replaced three of the old beams  using laminated Meranti and thickened epoxy. To add further strength I glassed over all the beams. To finish the bilge, Michelle and I painted three coats of Danboline for a nice white finish.

The cabin floor itself was cut from Okume marine ply, all I have to do now is cut the floor hatches and make the covers. I think I will paint the floor white using Danboline and varnish the hatch covers.

Once I have completed the cabin floor I can start on other projects which include painting some of the interior, making new cushions for the berths and rewiring the DC panel. To all my followers, thanks for the support! I hope to write a lot more this year!

dsc_0232

dsc_0447

dsc_0613

Leave a Reply

